Lit Life

How Do Your Reading Habits Change in the Summer?

IMG_20160612_161006

Do your reading habits change with the seasons? There’s something about summer that makes me want to up my reading. Sure, I definitely have more time now that my students are happily graduated, but there’s also just something about the elongated days of summer that make me want to fit more reading into those gifted hours of sunshine. Perhaps it’s something residual from library summer reading programs or from high school summer reading book lists, but, for me, sunshine equates to reading.

To be fair, I understand that I’m a lucky gal. Not everyone has such a distinct break in the summer like I do to up my reading and jump headlong into a TBR pile. However, even when I worked in the summer, I tended to read more. Something in me shifts with the season and my creativity and imagination thrive during the months of June, July, and August.

To paint the picture, my summer consists of long mornings sitting on my back porch watching the weird antics of the wildlife–I swear the squirrels have a turf war going on back here–with a slightly used hardback fresh from Half Priced Books in my hands. Even on days when the sun is hidden, the summer thunderstorms make me want to curl up with a cup of coffee and a soft, light blanket while a new paperback rests on my knee. Summer is also some of my only time to travel, so you can find me with an audiobook blaring on a road trip from nowhere to somewhere.

IMG_20160612_161056
Some of my Summer OwlCrate reads that I can’t wait to get to!

To kick off Summer Reading Week, I’d like to share some of the ways that my reading habits change in the summer:

  • I switch from Kindle to paper books. I have more daylight to hold a book. It’s as simple as that. During the summer, I have more time to focus and just read instead of having to sneak in late-night YA lit.
  • Consequently, I also listen to fewer audiobooks. I almost always have an audiobook going, so this might not be saying much, but I tend to read more physical books and listen less. As discussed in our audiobook post last week, I’m a big fan, but I tend to read physical books faster. So, in the summer I read more physical books because I want to get through more.
  • I read unapologetically and veraciously. This is my time to read. I read all year, but only in the wee hours of the night or during plan periods to prepare for lessons. Now, it is my time to read all the books I didn’t have time for, become acquainted with all the characters who I couldn’t meet, and survey all the fantastical lands that have been beckoning to me all year.
  • I focus on more light reads in June to catch up and really make a dent in my 52 books in 52 weeks challenge. I have a stack of books from my OwlCrate subscription service that is begging to be read as we speak (I’m almost done with The Serpent King now!) .

IMG_20160612_160822

  • I read more adult literature to break up the YA lit. It’s tough reading complex literature when I teach it all year, so this is really the only timer that I get to read some classics I haven’t read before. This is the summer of Virginia Woolf for me. I just finished A Room of One’s Own (Yes, I final did it! Another abandoned book found again) , and I’m currently reading Virginia Woolf’s Mrs. Dalloway. I can’t get enough!
  • I read more critically. Usually during the school year, reading is simply an escape, a way to become lost in different lands far, far away from the papers I should be grading. However, in the summer, I am able to really savor my reading, really annotate the texts, and attempt to derive meaning from the words put forth by the author.
  • I incorporate the reading into my writing more. Because I can savor the literature and really let it affect me, I tend to use poetry and essay writing to respond to the literature I read during the summer. It’s a really great way for me to retain the books as well as use them to inspire my own works.

Do your reading habits change in the summer? In other seasons? Do they stall out, or do they blossom? Let us know below 🙂

Lit  & Love,

Amy Signature

Need Some Summer Reading Suggestions?:

Book Club Summer Reading List

Top 5 Book Club Books from Our Booze & Book Club

Borne Back Ceaselessly: My Favorite Book

Nothing Ever Truly Dies- Why Deathless Is My Favorite

Book Review: 13 Reasons Why

2 thoughts on “How Do Your Reading Habits Change in the Summer?

Leave a Reply

