Lit Life

Stairway to Book Heaven

il_570xn-739799288_oy86

I’m a firm believer that books can fix any decor problem, and this is seriously my dream for my basement stairs. My basement stairs are white-washed and get stupidly scuffed up.

I’ve seen this idea hand-painted before, but I love this quicker, cleaner option of using decals from the That Makes a Statement Etsy shop. She has some really great stuff there and you should definitely check her out!

This way you simply paint the risers the colors you want, then buy the vinyl decals for the lettering of the spines.

I have six stairs leading up from the basement, and I already have the books picked out that I would do: The Great Gatsby, Harry Potter, 1984, Emerson’s Essays, Complete Works of Edgar Allen Poe, and Shakespeare’s Complete Works.

If you would do this what books would you pick?

Lit & Love,

Amy Signature

5 thoughts on “Stairway to Book Heaven

  1. I totally want to do this… If I did it, I’d pick Harry Potter, Le Petit Prince, The Chronicles of Narnia, Charlotte’s Web, The Giver, Catcher in the Rye, … and maybe Where the Red Fern Grows. Oh and probably something from Shel Silverstein… The Giving Tree is my all time fav, but Where the Sidewalk Ends is also so good. And I really can’t figure out a Shakespeare favorite… Ah, I’m going to need a never-ending staircase in my house.

    Like

Leave a Reply

